Restoration of 1910 James Tower
The building now known as James Tower was home to the first hospital in Seattle, established in 1877 by the Sisters of Providence, a Catholic charity. Since then, the campus has undergone more than $100 million in new construction and renovations and now stands as one of the most modern and technologically advanced medical facilities in our region.
Since 1886, additions were also made in 1887, 1888, 1893 and 1901. By 1906, plans for a new hospital were made. Eventually, the Sisters selected a full-block site, in the Squire Park neighborhood, at 17th Avenue and Jefferson Street. In September 1910, the new Sisters of Providence Hospital opened.
Providence Hospital has experienced considerable change in the last 100 years. The building style, with its terra cotta opening surrounds, corner quoins and decorative elements, was clearly historic with Classical precedents. Providence Hospital gained its physical prominence and symbolism because of its size, height and stylistic features.
UNIPRO has enjoyed restoring elements of the building including surmounted brick voussoirs and terra cotta keystones and aprons below the window sills. UNIPRO has also provided restoration in the south facing rusticated entrance as well. We have given great attention to matching the speckled cream color terra cotta decoration, repairing the formed copper gutters and downspouts, along with stopping any damaging water-intrusion through the Terra cotta coping cap set on brick-clad parapets.
UNIPRO is truly proud to be working with SABEY Corporation in the continued restoration of the 1910 building, now known as James Tower.